Civ6: AND, zee science victory is MINE!

Screenshot from Civ6

Click the image to make it bigger so you can read my notes on the screenshot.

… BUT, the game wanted me to think it might not happen! I was close to a science victory and knew it, but was afraid some other civilization would beat me to a win with a religious win. The Missionary game they had going was inTENSE! Germany’s religion was Catholicism, Scythia’s was Islam and Peter, from Russia, went with Eastern Orthodoxy. They sent hordes of Missionaries and Apostles out to the masses! Everyone’s religion, as shown on the name plate for each city, was constantly changing. Most of the week this made me happy and I wanted to see them fight it out because if they were focused on converting all the civilizations then I could focus on Arabia and try to beat them to the science victory I so desperately wanted. The count for who had the most religious followers changed every time I checked the ingame scorecards. Then Scythia lost any chance of winning and started declaring war on both City-States and Germany. Repeatedly. I lost count of how many Generals she managed to acquire. Germany and Russia, however, stoked the fires between them and continued to battle it out for Jesus and I grew bored keeping up with them. I had my own win to make happen, after all.

Religion score card showing Russia was close to winning in Civ6

Then I got the warning Russia was close to victory! I quickly checked the score card and saw that Russia had overtaken Germany and was close to a win. I read that you need to be the dominant religion in every civilization and saw that mine was still a mix of two religions (Russia and Germany) but that most people in my civ still followed the Pantheon I’d started, Divine Spark. Feeling pretty good about that I then reread the alert about Russia’s impending victory and saw it was for a culture win. Culture? Really? I don’t understand that win just yet because, when I look at the score card for it, I see myself having more tourists by number.

Scorecard showing culture standings, in my game of Civ6

If I’m reading this correctly (spent some time this morning staring at it) my tourists to America are FROM America, and those don’t count? I wasn’t doing much to attract them intentionally as I was focusing my efforts on researching tech and launching rockets and pod units into space, but I thought I was doing better with the culture requirements because my numbers were higher. Arabia led the game on Culture, a good half of the game. The first couple of days playing this game, I led in Science, Culture and Score. How Russia came up and snagged the top spot (when it looks like Arabia still has it to me), I dunno.

Science victory with Teddy Roosevelt in Civ 6

Either way, Teddy and I worked very very hard to pull out this Science Victory!!! I think I could have achieved this win sooner if I had paid better attention to my research in the beginning of the game. It wasn’t until after turn 250 that I realized I might not be on the path I’d thought I was and had to buckle down if I wanted to win. I ran with five cities (Scythia and Arabia each had, like, a billion and fifty!) and focused my trade routes on science until I started building rockets. Then I switched them to production focus. I had Spaceports in three cities but only used two to build so I focused the other three cities on research grants to try and earn the last bits of research quicker. When my last pod launched and earned me the win, a turn or two AFTER the message Russia was close to winning, btw, I didn’t do my usual victory dance. I was so exhausted I gave a quick thought to just sleeping in my chair so I wouldn’t have to climb the stairs to bed. It was worth it though. Teddy and I both are very happy with our Chieftain progress.  Can we do this at the next level (is it Warlord or Prince)? I have no idea. The other civilizations are so intense and aggressive! A win on a higher difficulty would be SWEET!

 

Posted on October 28, 2016, in Gaming and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

I love reading your comments. Thanks!

