Conversations with a 3YO: Playing with ears

3YO Grand daughter at her parents wedding

Boo at her parents wedding last Halloween. She played with her daddy’s ears as they danced together!

Boo has this incredibly annoying (to me) habit of playing with my ear lobes. She LOVES to do this and it’s become such a habit, half the time I’m not sure she’s aware she’s reached up and started fiddling with my lobes again. She does this when she’s happy, watching the telly, on my hip as we walk around and when she’s tired. Sometimes it’s a comfort thing for her, too. I can’t count how many times I’ve held her as she cried and tried to ignore that she was, once again, playing with my ear lobes.

She and I talked about this yesterday.

“Why do you play with my ears???” I asked after brushing her fingers away from my lobes.

“Grandma,” she said as she put her hand on my shoulder, “I play with everyone’s ears!”. The look on her face showed this was something she thought I should already know.

“But, why?”

“I just love ears. I love them. Ears make us hear and I want you to hear my fingers because they’re happy when they play with ears. I play with everyone’s ears and at my (other) Grandma’s house I play with their ears, too. Ears are cute.”

“I see” was the only response I had.

“I want to play with ears at Walmart but I don’t think those people would let me. They need me to play with the ears but they might get mad so I don’t, ” she paused and looked down with the saddest look on her face.

“But,” she continued, “I really really want to play with Walmart ears.”

It’s cute, especially given she’s put so much thought into it. But, I won’t lie, it drives me NUTS. Heh.

Posted on February 10, 2016, in Blog, Family and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

I love reading your comments. Thanks!

