Menu Plan Monday: Week of chicken dishes

This week marks our return to “CaveManKeto” in terms of what we’re eating for supper. His recipes are simple and so tasty! I’d backed off of using them as much because they’re also typically heavy on meat and cheese. We love meat and cheese but, after a while we all wondered if it was a good idea to eat as much of it as we had been. I’m going to skip the whole ‘fats is bad’ debate and just say this: I don’t think there’s anything wrong with it if you’re following a good keto/Atkins/paleo/what-have-you life style.

I cross checked recipe ideas, recipes and what I already had on hand and found I had most of what I needed  for the following dinners. I expect a bit of tweaking here and there as the week progresses, but, for the most part, our main dishes will follow the plan precisely. Here’s what we’re eating for supper this week.

I will have to make a few adjustments along the way. I do not have the chili garlic sauce the Spicy Chicken calls for but I do have sriracha so I’ll sub for that instead. Oh, and I have lemon juice rather than lime but, in some cases, they are very interchangeable depending on what you need the (acid) juice to do. My family prefers breasts over thighs so I’ll be using chicken breasts in each of these recipes. Can add a little butter to up the fat since breasts aren’t as fatty as thighs.

I’ve made up a batch of grain and sugar-free breakfast bars for the week and roasted a turkey breast over the weekend to cover lunches. Babygirl and Goose will not want the breakfast bars or the turkey so I’m going to make a big bowl of treet meat salad for them today to use of a few pantry items I don’t want anymore, such as pasta.

Hope you had a great weekend! I centered mine around the Super Bowl, making sure I did enough cooking on Saturday so I wouldn’t have to spend ALL day in the kitchen on Sunday. It worked, too, but the Super Bowl, to me, was a huge let down. In hindsight, I almost wish I’d skipped it this year. It was a defensive game that showed just how unprepared the offensive lines were (I’m an O-line lovah!), had a few moments of supreme childishness and, in the end, I’m not sure either team was deserving of the title based on that one game. Bleh. All in all, a let down for me that felt like the perfect ending to an overall fail-week.

Looking up from here, though!

What’s cooking in your kitchen this week?

Posted on February 8, 2016, in Blog, Food and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Hi Ranni, love your menu choices! We have been eating this way for three years and the benefits have been enormous. I get asked often so what do you eat? Now I can point them to your article 😉

I love reading your comments. Thanks!

