A Bird Story is short but full of feels

Scene from A Bird Story

I played To The Moon over a year ago and, although it was a little hard for me to get into, at first, by the time I had finished it I knew it would always be one of my favorite (non-combat) story games. The story was richly woven in a way that makes it grab you hard (near the end) and leaves a mark on your soul. I don’t say that lightly by the way. When I saw A Bird Story was by the same developer, Freebird Games, I was immediately interested. It’s about an hour long and has no dialogue. Like To the Moon I had a little bit of a hard time getting into it but by the end, man, it hit me in the feels.

Kan “Reives” Gao is a Canadian composer and game designer who started Freebird Games. His music in the game isn’t just beautiful, it accompanies the story in both To The Moon and A Bird Story as though it’s a part OF the story. They are working on a sequel to To The Moon called Finding Paradise. A Bird Story falls in-between (in order, it’s not a part 2) and, if I’m understanding this correctly, is a sort of pre-story to the sequel. Hearing that the boy in A Bird Story might feature in the upcoming Finding Paradise was the main reason I bought it. I know some are upset they paid $4.99(US) for an hours worth of story-game but I think it was worth it. What’s more, why not support this company? They’re making another game for us and if it’s like they’ve done so far, it’ll be amazing! I think, anyway.

I did have a weird issue when I started playing A Bird Story, one I couldn’t find a solution for and, in the end, didn’t really matter.

The "begin" button in A Bird Story wasn't in English for me

Screenshots from the game are tiny and done by hitting your “PrtScn” button before pasting it into your image software. ‘Least, that’s how I did it. This is because these games are made with RPG-maker. The top button in the screenshot should say “Begin” and, it probably does in whatever language that is. There’s no dialogue in this one so it didn’t turn out to be a problem. To The Moon made me cry. This one didn’t but it did fill me with … feels. Good feels and sad feels. I don’t think this game is everyone’s cup of tea but if you enjoy story rich visual novels with a little interaction, you may enjoy it. The pixel graphics are nicely done, one of the better ones I’ve seen.

Finding Paradise is supposed to be out late this year or early next year. I hope it’s sooner rather than later but will gladly play it whenever it’s released. A Bird Story has limited interaction compared to To The Moon and, I’m assuming, Finding Paradise, but I’m not sure that takes away from the experience at all. Definitely a purchase I don’t regret. Seeing a few more titles on the developer’s website … I must check them out!

Posted on January 23, 2016, in Blogging, Gaming and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

I love reading your comments. Thanks!

