Menu Plan Monday: I goofed last week!

I’ll tell you, sometimes, even with the best laid plans, things can go wrong. This is a tale of human error three-fold. We still have a few spaghetti squashes from the garden so I’d planned on us having spaghetti squash casserole for supper on Saturday. I had Goose retrieve one from the basement for me and I washed the outside (we don’t eat the outside but I always give them a good scrub as my knife goes through the outside of the squash into the center of it), cut it in half, scooped the seeds out and then salted each half. I then inverted them onto a foil lined pan and put them in the oven to roast. I never use oil and or water when roasting spaghetti squash because, in my experience, it makes the squash mushy. I can’t stand mushy squash! I lightly salt each half to help draw out the water so it’s a bit firmer in taste and texture.

A bit later I went to grab the ground turkey from my fridge to start the meat sauce when it hit me … I never gave a single thought to needing ricotta cheese, an ingredient that I feel is what marries everything else in this dish together in perfect wedded bliss and makes spaghetti squash casserole amazing. When I made the menu plan I wrote down every ingredient I’d need to cook the plan and then checked them off, one by one, as I built my grocery list. Completely forgot about the ricotta! I decided to ditch the planned dinner as a cooked spaghetti squash will keep in the fridge for a day or two and go with my back-up dinner.

That’s vital, for me, to plan a back-up dinner or two when menu planning. Sometimes things just will not go according to plans, after all, and this was a great example of that! My back-up meal was a treet meat salad. I grabbed a box of gluten-free pasta, jar of pimentos, the treet meat and an onion from my pantry. Then I opened the fridge to get the celery, mayo and Velveeta cheese I’d also need.

The partial loaf of Velveeta I’d had, that I’d counted on using, was gone.

I don’t know who used it or for what but, at that point, it didn’t matter. What’s done is done. Mike offered to shred cheddar to use in its place but when I’ve done that in the past, subbing real cheese for the velvatized fake stuff, it just doesn’t taste right in this pasta salad. I was stumped as I had nothing else ready to cook and, for the third installment of the human error I mentioned earlier, I was starving!

I didn’t eat when I woke Saturday morning. I didn’t eat until around 3pm Saturday which means I’d gone about fourteen hours with no food. That’s super bad for me as my sugar levels go bonkers when I don’t eat every few hours. When I realized I hadn’t eaten I checked my sugar level (201, people!!) and made myself eat even though I wasn’t hungry. That worked to start bringing my sugar level down but it also made me more hungry. Hungry in the way I started craving all sorts of crazy carbs! I know myself well enough to know if I don’t hit one of those cravings square in the face I will continue to eat, snacking on everything in sight, until I’m literally sick of food.

So after a good thirty minute debate we had a late supper of burgers from our only restaurant in town.

I didn’t want to order out but everyone was very hungry, supper, by this time, was way late and everyone else wanted the burgers. This week I’ve double checked ingredients as well has having Mike check them, too, to make sure we don’t find ourselves in a similar situation this coming week.

Here’s the plans for this week:

Monday- Spaghetti squash casserole with a side salad

Tuesday- Chicken roasted over sweet potatoes, celery, onion and tomatoes

Wednesday- Ham steaks and cheesy spinach eggs (grits for Babygirl and myself as we don’t like ham)

Thursday- Crockpot broccoli and cheese soup (keto friendly, uses cream cheese instead of flour to thicken)

Friday- Round steak fajitas over greens (no wraps)

Saturday- Buffalo pulled beef over greens

Sunday- Spinach and mushroom smothered chicken

What’s on your menu plan for the week?

Posted on January 11, 2016, in Blog, Food and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

I love reading your comments. Thanks!

