Civilization:Beyond Earth, very first impressions

Windows 10 issues with Covilization:Beyond Earth Steam discussion

This was my introduction to Civilization:Beyond Earth … it wouldn’t launch. I made sure my video drivers were up to date. Nada. I changed my “My Documents” folder so that it wasn’t “Read Only”. When that didn’t work I verified the game files. Still, it kept presenting me with the options of playing it with or without AMD Mantle, only to ask again without ever starting the game. Repeatedly. The last thing I did was to change my resolution … I had it 125% bigger due to my current vision problems. Putting it back to 100% (or, normal?) did the trick and finally got her started. If I remember correctly it took around 40 minutes to get the game to finally start.

I’d had a long frustrating day and the launcher issues probably didn’t help. The opening cinematic was unexpected, very well done and served to set the tone well. The game music is exactly what I’d expect from a Civilization game, that being top-notch. In the little time I played (92 minutes?) I did see a bit of Civ V and I liked that as it felt familiar. I think it also helped my mind forget I was playing a new game, however, and maybe that’s why some of then ‘new’ was jarring.

Civilization:Beyond Earth ADVISR

This made me chuckle.

The sound effects are going to take some getting used to. Learning where to fight is also important because on this alien planet there’s this nasty miasma mess that’s helped to kill my soldiers, All of them including my explorers. I expected a learning curve to present itself but when the ADVISR informed me the last of my soldiers were dead, even though I was directing a unit to go and take care of a particularly nasty group of enemies at that very second, I saved and exited to Windows.

I think my frustrating day coupled with the buggy game start had me a bit too tired to really enjoy playing. The new systems look interesting. The other civilization leaders look very polished in a sci-fi-digital age kind of way. The tech tree, at first glance, is an atrocious mess. It’s very hive-like in design and I don’t like it right now. Once I’m used to it I may feel differently. I certainly can’t see me winning a victory in this first game without someone holding my hand! I’ll be starting a new game next time I play but I want to read up on a few of the new systems first. I launched a solar collector and understand that it affects the tiles under it, but, …. in what way? Miasma? Cloaking? Does it rain lasers upon my enemies? I don’t know and if the game told me, I didn’t hear or see it. The quest system is nice though I must admit the directional arrows on radar windows to point me in the right directions (like in LotRO) were missed by yours truly! The introduction of the other civilization leaders … the first introduction scared me. /sheepishgrin

It happens.

My first session was rough, round the edges and a bit in the center as well but I’m looking forward to delving deeper into the game as I learn to play all over again. Lot to explore yet! Any tips for a new player? Did you jump when you met the first other civ leader? Are explorers considered military and soldiers not? Do you hate miasma as much as I do?

Questions, I has lots of them!

 

 

Posted on January 5, 2016, in Gaming, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

I love reading your comments. Thanks!

