LotRO: Of Windfola

I logged into my Windfola Ranni a few days ago and opened the server merge box to find the title selection gift. Windfola was my home server for a long time so, of course, I went with Ranni, Of Windfola. Playing on Windfola again has brought back so many fond memories I have a smile plastered on my face the entire time I’m running about questing. One memory, for instance, came flooding back thanks to my grand-daughter. I was cooking supper one night in open beta (SoA) while working the Midgewater Marshes area. I asked my (then) rather young daughter to watch Ranni while I tended to the stove. I instructed her to press and hold the “Up” arrow should anything try and hit Ranni. She decided to ‘help’ me by trying to fight a neeker. I lost my first “Undying” title to a neeker-breeker in the Marshes that evening! Boo, my grand-daughter, did the same thing to this Ranni a couple of weeks ago. I was outside when she decided to “play” my game. I think this Ranni was killed by a spider but it was VERY near to the exact spot original Ranni died to a neeker. I rerolled this Ranni and changed her to a Minstrel (best decision I’ve made in a while!!!) and earned the “Undying” title by making sure Boo was with me when I was AFK in LotRO.

Anyway.

I couple of nights ago I was searching for a childhood picture when I found a slew of screenshots from my first days on Windfola. Since I’d not been long having donned the title “Of Windfola” I thought a post highlighting a few was fitting.

LoreMaster Bear pet swimming high up in the air inside a dwelling in LotRO

Pathing was a thing to behold back in these days! I often found other people stopping to stare when I took my bear, Frogbiter, indoors. Got a lot of tells asking what on earth was going on as well from many of those folks, tells that sometimes led to friendship and fellowing up later on. We were never really sure if Frogbiter was swimming in the air or doing interpretive ballet. Either way, it was hilarious!

 

LoreMaster pet bear, sitting and chilling high up in a tree in LotRO

I have so many screenshots of Frogbiter in odd places. SO. MANY! Speaking of crazy acts of Lore-Master pets, he earned his name in the Midgewater Marshes. I was fighting a mess of goblins (back when killing a goblin did NOT stop them taunting you), near death might I add, when I noticed my stupid bear had abandoned me mid-fight to go and kill a frog. A level 1 non-attacking-completely-defenseless-there-for-ambience frog. Back to the screenshot, Maladen was the best Captain I’ve ever played with to date! He was on an alt in this screenie but I wanted to point him out because he is who I patterned my Captain, Condi, after.

/Swordsalute to Bulwyfe!

 

A fell scrying pool, the way we used to switch to our creep characters in LotRO

I had completely forgotten we used to have to use Fell Scrying Pools to switch to our Creep characters. I spent MONTHS and months in the ‘Moors on Windfola, almost exclusively. I had left The WATCH kin and joined the Pathfinders. The Pathfinders were fun but our leader left the game and took most of the kin with him to play, IIRC, the AoC beta. It was a heartbreaking event and I decided to try a Creep as they were brand new and give the kin time to sort itself out. Months later I was asked to come back Freepside and help keep the kin from completely falling apart, which is what led to me becoming kin leader of the Pathfinders. That, in turn, led to some of the BEST memories I’ve ever had in any game, period. We were small and struggled doing bigger end-game content so I reached out to a few friends and we started the Alliance on Windfola, a way for smaller kins to connect, raid and have fun together.

 

Standing inside a giant troll in the Ettenmoors, trying to 'hide', in LotRO

This is me on my Black Arrow “hiding” in a Troll’s butt. This worked rather well for a bit until Hunters were able to ‘track’ us and, well, I died in that Troll’s butt. The first time it happened I was shocked to find myself defeated. I wish I could remember the name of the Hunter that killed me! I do remember it was a Hunter none of us liked as Creeps (he was rather powerful and friends with a dastardly Burg) and when I said something about it in OOC, I was told to consider myself ‘initiated’. I miss those days in the ‘Moors!

 

Raid dead on a ramp in Helegrod

Speaking of the Alliance, this was our first ‘test’ run together. We had no aspirations of beating Helegrod when we decided to give this a go, rather, we wanted to do something fun and get to know each other better. Our raid leader gave us strict instructions not to step off the ramp else we’d pull something that would wipe the raid. Then he accidentally went to far and wiped the raid. I remember being told to put Frogbiter up while we were going to the ramp. Frogbiter was known far and wide for wiping entire groups, even when I was AFK and he was set to ‘Passive’ and ‘only attack what I attack’. I was so glad I had, indeed, put my bear up. I’m absolutely positive Frogbiter would have taken the initial blame for this wipe!

 

Chickens and helper people in Archet, LotRO

This was a fun event! Our kin decided to get our ‘Cheep’ on and run to Bree from the Shire as Chickens. We stopped along the way anytime we saw groups of people and jumped around for them, posed for screenshots on the Boar Fountain and then decided to continue on to Archet and see if we could fight a wolf. We attracted the attention of another kin in Bree (can’t remember their name!). This kin followed us to Archet to make sure were safe … which meant they killed every wolf we tried to attack until one of our kinsmen was able to relay the message to them that we were attacking the wolves on purpose. Honestly, I don’t remember if we were able to kill any wolves, I just remember laughing! Lots of laughing on Vent as well as from my kids who were watching this happen. I wish we’d done this more often!

So many memories of my days on Windfola. My favorite zone back then was, believe it or not, Angmar. I’ve since found my enjoyment of that map came from the people I was with back then. I don’t mind Angmar now, it’s just not as fun as it was back on Windfola. We practically lived in Carn Dum for the longest time. Still, hands down, my favorite dungeon in the game!

 

 

 

Posted on August 24, 2015, in Blogging, Gaming and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Small world/server! I recognize those kinships (and some of the names) and I had no idea you were leader of the alliance on Windy. I used to be a solo member for a while way back when I was in smaller kinships. I’ve been with Trucido for over 5 years now, though, so I kinda lost track of all that.

    • I wasn’t the leader of the alliance. Not sure we had a leader really. Was several smaller kins (and, originally, a great big raiding kin) with a chat channel.

      Trucido is an amazing kin. Remember watching their videos years back and being completely gobsmacked!

  2. Look at that starter gear! Good times indeed. Have you chosen a server to move Windfola Ranni to?

  3. I have one single toon on Windfola. I am guessing I will move her over to Landroval to be with the rest of my gang. I need a good Jeweler on there anyways so it works out. I will have to buy another slot though. Booo!

    • Aren’t we getting a new slot? Was thinking I already had it but I could be mistaken.

      Even though I officially left Windfola a long time ago, playing there again … gonna miss it. Hoping a lot of those there go to Arkenstone and or Landroval.

I love reading your comments. Thanks!

