LotRO: Back in, establishing characters and loving it!

Puppies found in Ellie Cutleaf's house LOTRO

I stopped playing LotRO (or, really, any game with TONS of reading) for a while when my good eye started going ‘bad’. It was a temporary thing, luckily, and I’ve regained most of that sight in my good eye back. I’ve been itching to play LotRO again, namely my Beorning, but hadn’t found time to do so. When the news of which servers were closing and which weren’t hit, I immediately knew two things. One being that I was at the point of craving LotRO time again and, two, that server consolidation should mean re-populated and re-energized worlds to play on. That, the idea of seeing lots more folks playing when I’m ingame, excites me to no end! I mostly solo-play but I like doing this in well populated areas as it allows me to people watch. Seeing others enjoy the game while I’m playing, knowing they have a connection to Middle Earth as well, it makes me feel good. A common and shared bond with others, so to speak.

I want to be able to server-hop between the five remaining US worlds and experience each ‘new’ community.

So I created a character on the other four servers that made the cut (my main server is Landroval) and started running these characters through the intro. My first goal is to get them each to level 20 and start skirmishes with them, then decide what to do next. So far the only one I’ve gotten to 20 is a minstrel but I’m working on it.

I don’t have my name on any server (of the ones that made the cut) other than Arkenstone. I reserved the name “Ranni” the first day servers were added after closed beta, and then on the newest ones when they added a few more. A year or two back I deleted all those name-holders thinking ‘I’ll never have characters on all servers’ and now, well, now I want a “Ranni” on Brandywine, Crickhollow, Gladden and Landroval. Really wishing I hadn’t deleted those toons now, but, what can I do? I think the person who has a “Ranni” on Landy may still be playing their character but I’m not sure about the others. I have my name on Windfola and I’m hoping to move that character to a server and be able to keep the name. We’ll see.

The announcement wasn’t just met with anticipatory joy but also with nostalgia. Windfola, my first ‘home’ server, is closing. My second home was Big E, a server that was ON FIRE with spirit and excitement when I played there. Reading it was closing hit me with shock if I’m honest. Hard to believe a server so incredible, entertaining and full of memories is getting the chop! I fell for Big E so hard I brought quite a few friends with me there from Windfola. I love Landroval, really do, and it feels like home now. But it’s no Elendilmir. There’s a great sense of community on Landroval, one that’s infectious and fun, cute and sincere all rolled into one. It doesn’t have that ‘family-feel’ that Big E did, though. I don’t know how to describe what I’m trying to say here so if that made no sense, sorry.

By the way, if you’re wondering why I left Big E for Landroval, CSTM. It was the fellowship walk. I was on a break and came back to LotRO just for the walk and found out how different Landroval was compared to all the other servers. I decided to stay.

Anyway, I’m back to playing again, am establishing characters on each server so I can play EVERYWHERE and having a blast. My level of excitement for the server merging ranks up there with a kid in December, really. I’m sure it’s going to be a bumpy ride but I can’t wait to see it out! Oh, and although my Beorning was calling my name, I’ve only done one quest with her so far. I’ll get to her, soonish.

Posted on August 11, 2015, in Blogging, Gaming and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Welcome back! I created new characters on Landroval and Arkenstone to see what the communities are like as well. A fresh start and potentially lively servers is pretty exciting.

  2. I’m back playing, too! And now that I’ve actually figured out things from 2 updates ago… I am on my way to catching up. xD

    As for the closings… the idea of more active servers is exciting, though I am nervous about the move (naming reasons, guild reasons, etc) I have had Landroval as a 2nd server for years now, though I’ve never really felt it was “home” despite loving it there. Maybe because my main and my guild aren’t there? Both are on the now doomed Windfola… and I will most likely be going to whichever server they decide to go to.

    Glad to hear you’re enjoying the game again!

  3. Ranni! So glad you’re doing better!

I love reading your comments. Thanks!

