You only get one you. Rock it.

Spock, LLAP

Growing up I wasn’t a fan of Star Trek:TOS but I did like Spock and Scotty. Spock was the weirdest thing I’d seen on TV, up to that point, but that didn’t seem to bother any one more so than make the team better. He stood out, apart from the rest, to me, something I felt I did around others. He was one of the first characters to start making feel like it was okay to be me, even if “me” was different.

I was sat in the back of class for many years at school and given work that no one else had. The teacher taught the class while I did my work. I didn’t have a group of kids to join with the reading circles or group projects much at all because I was considered advanced. When I was done with my work I tutored classmates who needed help. Every year I received a slew of teacher valentine’s cards because they said I was like a teacher. Some even went as far as telling me I wasn’t one of them. I didn’t feel that I fit in at home either. So seeing someone rock the ‘different’ like Spock did, it left an impression on me that I still feel to this day.

Leonard Nimoy lived his life in a way that celebrated the idea that it was a great thing to be you. That’s a lesson many of us can take to heart and my biggest draw from him still. What a legacy to leave behind!

RIP Leonard Nimoy.

Posted on February 27, 2015, in Real life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

I love reading your comments. Thanks!

