Dragon Age: 2, That’s a LOT of reading!

I’ve had a play session with Dragon Age: 2 and, so far, I’m liking it. Well, after adjusting my expectations a bit, that is. The game is good so far, don’t get me wrong. I just assumed I’d be another Grey Warden fighting a surprise blight picking up where Awakening left off. Or something. It took me a bit to get the time lines between Origins and DA:2 to line up correctly in my head.

I wanted to recreate my character from DA:Origins as closely as I possibly could. I’ve come to terms with the grips that, given the chance, I create the same character in most games I play. Here she is.

My Warden from DA:O and my Champion from DA:2

Warden from DA:O on the left, Champion from DA:2 on the right

I’m not sure why I go for red heads with buns and freckles but I usually do, or similar variations of this. I often wear my own hair in a messy bun, in the summer, when I just can’t take the heat my hair traps on my back, but it’s not a look I’m particularly drawn to in real life. Just my virtual one!

The graphics in DA:2 are AMAZING, having gone from finishing all of DA:O one night and firing up DA:2 the next. Blew me away before I thought about how there were a few years between the games and, you know, it was a whole new game. That’s something I had to remind myself over and over, it’s not the same game, it’s not the same game, it’s … holy CRAP that’s a lot of reading!

Oh, wait. Well, ok. Let’s go there.

HOLY CRAP IS THERE A LOT OF READING IN DA:2!!!

I’m only a lvl 5 or 6 and I feel as though I’ve already read a novel! I actually stopped reading codex entries when I picked up one titled (something like) “Blah Blah Codex, chapter 847” (think it was maybe chapter 3?) Just, it felt like I was being smacked in the face with a limp … scroll. Book. Bundle of papers. Wet ones. Soggy even. Smack here’s another. Walk a step or two. SMACK, and you thought you were done reading, hahaha. Turn the corner. SMACK! MOAR READING! Is it like this the entire game? Warning, if you say ‘yes’ I’m going to chunk a stack of codex at your screen!

Another thing I had to remind myself of was that I was not playing original Condi, the human noble. Nope, not at all. Once I whacked my expectation in the face with an 87 paragraph long codex, I was ok with the story for my Champion. Different isn’t bad. It’s just different. So sayeth the umpteenth thousand codex entry in my journal.

I haven’t killed much of anything yet. I’m doing busy quests inside a city. Lots of running here and there, fight a few bandits, run some more. Read a lot. Find a barrel to loot. Need more gold! Oh, look, a sparkly codex to read! (I’ll stop. Just want to emphasis there’s a crapton of reading codex in this game.) I haven’t had a good chance to play again since my one night last week (insert whine here) but I’m hoping  to by the weekend. I’m hitting zee potty training hard with my grand-daughter this week because she’s so incredibly stubborn! Not leaving a lot of time for anything else. I demand achievements based on the amount of time you sit in the floor beside a toddler on their potty! She gets chocolate if she piddles. I get sore knees and an achy back. Gotta be worth game time at least, no?

Anyway, I don’t remember what I was doing when I logged exactly but I’d just found a massive codex and decided it was time to call it a night. Origin (the EA client like Steam) auto-downloaded a DLC pack of some sort for DA:2. I need to go look at the ones available and see how much Bioware points cost. Can’t find any other way to buy the DLC. My oldest and his wife absolutely DID get me DA:I for Christmas so I want to finish DA:2 and the DLC before then.

How do I know what they’re getting me, you ask?

  1. My oldest, Bear, talked of nothing BUT DA:I for a good week or two every time he walked into a room I was in. Red. FLAG!
  2. Bear asked a million and one questions, wanting to know how far along in Origins I was (was still playing when this occurred) and if I thought I’d be finished in time for the release of DA:I.
  3. I was talking to the AMD driver installer as it popped up the game adverts during driver installation. I saw the ad for DA:I and said, “Oh, I’m getting that!”. Bear jumped a foot thinking I’d just bought it myself. (hahahaha)
  4. When I bring up DA:I everyone looks at each other like ‘OH NO! DOES SHE KNOW???”

Yes, people. I know. And I’m SO excited!

Oh, and yes, I do talk to my computer screen. It’s no different than yelling at football games or stupid reality shows, no?

 

Just looked at Bioware points and the DLC for DA:2. Would cost $27 for Mota, Legacy and The Exiled Prince. Worth it?

 

Posted on November 12, 2014, in Gaming and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I’ve always heard Dragon Age 2 was terrible but I’m really enjoying it. Last night I hit about 26 hours and unlocked some awesome codex entries…. *ducks* I’m kidding!

    They do seem to taper off after the start of the game. I actually like them but I save ’em up for lazy evenings. But then I’m playing on a console, so I’m just laying on the couch with Lola curled up behind my knees and I’m reading up on the lore of Dragon Age.

    I was going to really try to rush through DA 2 to get ready for DA:I but I’m enjoying myself too much.

    I’ll probably skip the DLC though…

    • I was in serious need of vending some things off my chest via killing a bunch of darkspawn last week. Made all the codex entries feel a bit much I think. I’ve enjoyed reading them for the most part. The story in the DA games is amazing! Sometimes I just want to kill stuff, though.

      I looked up the order for the DLC to DA2 and, I think, you’re supposed to play them as you play the main game. Saw where you play this one during Act 2, that one during Act 1 and 3, … confused me a little. Need to check into it again and see what’s what.

      Glad to hear you’re enjoying the game! So many don’t like it but I think it’s neat so far.

I love reading your comments. Thanks!

