Puzzles are certainly different in Sherlock Holmes: Crimes and Punishments

Sherlock Holmes Crimes and Punishments, intro screen

I’ve been playing Sherlock Holmes: Crimes and Punishments and I have to say, the game is BEAUTIFUL! Frogwares studios delivered another solid game to add to their Sherlock Holmes collection and I’m over-the-moon enjoying working the cases as I play through. So far I’ve completely two and started a third, the “Blood Bath” case. My husband heard a bit of the dialogue on the second case I played, “Riddle on the Rails” and told me he’d read the story that one was based on. I found that to be super neat!

Frogwares admitted, after putting The Testament of Sherlock Holmes out, that they went a bit too far on the puzzles and made some of them too hard. They said the next game, Crimes and Punishments, wouldn’t have those seemingly impossible puzzles and, to that, they’re right. The puzzles this go round aren’t hard to solve at all. That said, the floating ghostly ‘tobacco and cigar’ puzzles drive me batty. You’re presented with a sliding piece image and have to line it up correctly. You rotate the entire image and have to slide two pieces into place to complete it. Sounds simple, no? Deceptively! I’ll think I have the two pieces lined up correctly and when nothing happens, after barely bumping them a million times (seems!) I’ll rotate the image and again to a different view and start over. UGH.

Sherlock Holmes Crimes and Punishments tobacco puzzle

The ‘lock picking’ puzzles are super simple. So far it’s the same basic puzzle (with minor differences) each time you have to pick a lock. I appreciate the simplicity I suppose but I miss the complexity of ‘lock picking’ from Testament. Think I’ve had this puzzle three times now … was hoping for, I dunno, different with each lock.

Sherlock Holmes Crimes and Punishments cab ride screen

Attention to detail is HUGE, again, and I love the cab ride ‘loading screens’ in the game. In the above Sherlock is reading Crimes and Punishment! Other times he’s deep in thought or reading a different book. Watson may be going over his notes or … Best loading screens ever! Baker Street wasn’t changed too much, still looks like Baker Street from Testament, something I deeply appreciate! If you have the game and haven’t checked out the telescope view from Baker Street, you must. (another throw back to Testament) So far the crimes scenes aren’t as stomach-flippingly gory as Testament but I’m not sure if that’s a good or bad thing. Just *is* kind of thing right now.

If you’re on the fence about getting this one, DO IT! Crimes and Punishments has several cases to solve instead of one gigantic case. I like both, having the one story and having several. It’s a great follow-up to Testament, the puzzles won’t do you in and make you rage quit and the stories are interesting. The deduction board does take getting used to but you’ll catch on pretty fast. I have a case to solve waiting on me (think I’m nearing the end of “Blood Bath”) so I must take my leave and get back to ‘work’.

Posted on October 20, 2014, in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

I love reading your comments. Thanks!

