Tried the new “easier way to create on WordPress.com” yet?

I had a post idea in mind when I got here but I saw the blurb about the new posting editor and switched over to it. I don’t know if it’s because I’ve been using the other for so many years or what but … weird. Wow. Not sure I like it yet. And it’s completely blanked my mind.

Gonna take some getting used to.

I’ve never been that fond of change as a general rule. I think that’s why I stuck with LotRO so long rather than trying other MMOs or time-consuming games. Even when all of my friends were gone from LotRO, I hung on for as long as I could. Change can be a scary thing, no?

That said, I’ve had a surprising and HUGE amount of fun this year playing other games, like Dragon Age and Bioshock Infinite. Games on my list to play soon on my PC, in no particular order (because I haven’t decided for sure which is next) are Dragon Age 2, The Witcher 2, Dishonored, Dues Ex: Human Revolution, Bioshock 2, (finish) Bioshock, and, of course, the Season Pass/episodes DLC for Bioshock Infinite. I still need to replay Infinite and find all those voxophones!

I still have a game going on 360 for Lego LotR and War in the North. I haven’t finished Donkey Kong: Tropical Freeze or Mario 3D yet either. None of this stops me from wanting Dragon Age: Inquisition, Sims 4, the upcoming Sherlock Holmes: Crimes and Punishments, ……… Realistically I should never let the phrase “I’m bored” pass my lips when it comes to gaming since I have so many games I haven’t touched on top of the ones in progress, but sometimes that what I tell myself to justify buying more.

Anyway. Just noticed the new improved posting editor doesn’t show me my word count. I *really* don’t like that. I tend to have an affliction known as ‘bloggeria of the fingers’ and it’s very easy to get carried away and go all wordy. Will stop this one now. You’re welcome!

Posted on August 28, 2014, in Blogging, Gaming and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. I like that they got rid of the scroll bar. Makes sense to me, my browser already has a scroll bar. Scroll bar inception can make for some very interesting mouse wheel scrolls. Also, I like that it looks more similar to how it looks on the actual post, because you can see it all instead of whatever section is within the little editing window.

    • I must admit, I was never a fan of the scroll bar. I was either scrolling through my post when I wanted to scroll the whole page up/down or vice versa. That said, I’m not sold on it yet. Suppose I’ll get used to it, but … I prefer the old look over all.

  2. It completely removes the Dashboard and navigation bar from the left side of the screen and that’s just dumb. I use those quick links all the time while posting. Right click, open in new tab is my best friend and having everything available to do that with is uber convenient. The new editor doesn’t even look like it’s connected to my account. It just has that useless blue bar at the top that navigates you completely away from the post your working on if you try and use it. Then there are those drop down menus on the right. That looks really pretty, but wait until you forget to edit your sharing link, or your tags, or anything else because you think you already did it when you didn’t. The frustration after clicking publish is not priceless. Without the visual indicator that you’ve already done those things you’d better make a checklist. Now if they were open by default it’d be easier, but that’s not nearly as pretty. If you use them as visual indicators of a task done, then you need to remember to open them all up right away. Regardless, that’s more work on us, so tell me again how this new interface is supposed to be easier? I want everything I might need access to available in one place and not have it take me away from the post I am writing. That helps keep me focused on the post. And making it the new editor the default editor without warning is just brain dead. Why do I have to keep clicking a link to go back to the better editor? I think that’s changing. As of this morning I went straight to the classic editor rather than the stupid one. But when they first rolled out the new editor there wasn’t even an easy way back. The only way to get the good editor was to go to all posts and click new post from there. They didn’t add the link back for several days – probably because of negative feedback. What I think they did was try to make blog posting more like Facebook posting and that’s not what I subscribe to WordPress to get. I want an in-between service. Not the full on, you have to configure EVERYTHING, like a standalone WordPress site, and not the dumbed down text boxes of social media. WordPress needs to stick with their niche. And next time, run it by a few bloggers BEFORE you roll is out without warning. And give us some damn notice before making such fundamental changes. Oh, and actually doing some research on how bloggers use the interface might be a good thing to consider too. Derp.

    • I do not like how it feels ‘dumbed down’ and doesn’t feel connected to MY sites. I always use the mouse over and link list at the top left to go between MY blog, the dashboard, …. I only sub to blogs via the WP reader so they’ll show in the link list on my side bar. I use Feedly to read the blogs I follow. I do not like that blue bar at all!

      The drop down menus on the right side … not sold on that. I can see where maybe one day it’ll become habit but, I’d rather not. Going to use the old editor as well and hope the new one isn’t forced at some point.

  3. I’m not going to click for that new and improved option if I can help it!

I love reading your comments. Thanks!

