Confessions from a Steam Sale addict

People. Oh, people. I have a problem. It’s just as ugly as it is FREAKING GLORIOUS! Oh, wait, see, that’s my problem. I’m buying games right and left, spending too much money and I’m EXCITED about it! I’m just as excited as I am ashamed. If that makes sense.

I had either 76 or 77 games and DLC on Steam before the Summer Sale started. I now have 92 and two of those games I don’t even remember buying! I think that constitutes a problem, no? Here’s what I bought over the weekend.

  • The Witcher 2: Assassins of Kings
  • They Breathe
  • The Swapper
  • Super House at Dead Ninjas
  • Spelunky (had been on my Wishlist for awhile)
  • Sid Meier’s Pirates
  • Safe Cracker: The Ultimate Puzzle Adventure (don’t remember buying this one)
  • Puzzler World
  • Papers, Please
  • One Way Heroics
  • Loadout (don’t remember buying this one either)
  • Fable, The Lost Chapters
  • Dungeon Defenders
  • Dragon Age: Origins (Wishlist item)
  • Don’t Starve (may have also been on my Wishlist)
  • Betrayer
  • Adventures of Shuggy
  • Pre-order for the upcoming Sherlock Holmes: Crimes and Punishments (wasn’t on sale)

I also added nine more games to my inventory to use as giveaways here on my blog!

Another thing I did was craft a ton of badges. Games that come with the collectible cards will drop a few of the cards needed to craft a badge for that game (gives you ‘Profile Experience’) as you play the game. The rest of the cards needed you have to trade for or just buy them. I finally crafted the badge for the game Bleed, a badge I tried to craft over the December Steam Sale. The cards I needed were crazy expensive, however, so I decided to wait until the prices came down. I still overspent on cards for badges as I know one of the cards was more than a few cents. Ok, maybe a few of the cards. That said, I’ve sold as many cards on the market as I bought to finish collecting for badge crafting so there’s that.

Speaking of, did you know you can sell the emotes and backgrounds you earn when crafting badges? They normally go for a penny but, still. Neat. Weird, but neat.

According to my list on the Steam database site I haven’t played 49 of the 92 games I own. That’s 53% of my games list that hasn’t been played, people!

 

My Steam Profile

Worth: $1100.10

Games owned: 92

Games not played: 49 (53%)

Hours spent: 687.0h

(I tried to convert the bbCode for that ‘badge’ to html so it’d show on this post. I’ve forgotten way more than I ever knew and that, the above, was the best I could muster.)

 

Anyway, as you can see, I need to play some games! How else will I ever justify my spending spree from this weekend? Or the fact that I will get a few more games from my wishlist before the sale is over? The Bioshock Infinite Season Pass WILL. BE. MINE! The others? There’s a few that I really want but I’m holding out for 75% off. I do have a few scruples left. I think.

I don’t know how your wallets are doing but I hope you’re having as much fun as I have. New games are so stinking exciting, no? I was going to write this post from the ‘I need a 12-step recovery program for my Steam Sale addiction’ angle but after thinking about it that program would need to be in a procedurally generated dungeon in an awesome retro-platformer game with the ‘steps’ being levels that go deeper until you find yourself against the mother of all mobs. And, for finishing the 12-step recovery program I think you should be rewarded with a new game.

I need help. (finding time to play my new games!!!)

Posted on June 23, 2014, in Gaming and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

I love reading your comments. Thanks!

