Organ Trail: Director’s Cut

I’m going to apologize right off the bat for my childishness in the names I gave my “friends” in this game. I had NO idea I’d see the names again after typing them in, else I would have picked different names. I SWEAR! See, when you start playing you have to give yourself a name first. I went with “AwesomeSauce” because, well, just because. I don’t know why, just thought it was funny. Then I met a man in game who offered to look for my friends. The way he talked, it sounded like ‘I’m a nice guy and will try but it’s not gonna happen I bet’ so when he asked for their names, I just typed in the first things I thought of.

Organ Trail, driving in heavy rain

 

But how about that guys awesome ability to go to D.C. and pluck my four friends from the crazy crowds of zombies and survivors??

(If you read Blondenerd the “Butts McGee” is totally her fault and consider my shortened version a nod to the awesomeness that is Britt!)

Anyway. I have no idea how I came to have this game. I wonder if it was in a Humble Bundle I bought? However I got it, I decided to give it a shot and cranked it up Saturday evening to see what it was about. This was originally a flash game by The Men Who Wear Many Hats . I don’t know the full story but they made an extended version, got it up on Steam’s Greenlight and the community voted it through. I love Greenlight for this very reason and will peruse the titles up for voting, finding games I’d very much like to play!

Organ Trail dysentery notice

Organ Trail: Director’s Cut is a zombie-survival game with a serious retro feel (see the station wagon in the first screenshot, retro like when ‘Ranni was young’ retro). You aren’t just fighting zombies in this game but also disease, time, stock and supplies and, for me, the muffler on your wagon. Mine were made so cheaply they JUST. KEPT. BREAKING! Never fear, however, as you can buy some rather nifty upgrades for your amazing ride in the shops at the different towns you’ll be stopping at. If, that is, you have the money. Money comes easy in some cities and others? Not happening! It’s a random thing, I believe, as to what set of experiences you run into in each city. Medkits are like GOLD!

Most cities have a couple of jobs available for money but I’ll be honest and say the only jobs I took were the ‘I dropped my crap and need you to go find it’ ones. The shooting mechanic in this game takes a bit of getting used to and I’m still getting used to it. I actually started selling ammo when I needed money because I did better running from zombies than I did shooting them. I suck sometimes. Won’t lie. I excelled at running from the zombies on scavenger missions, however, so food was plentiful! Especially when I had the run speed upgrade earned/bought from the combat trainer. (no real money needed for this game, just money earned IN game)

Organ Trail notice of road kill

 

This game is funny and cracked me up at times. I was riding down the road on my way to my next stop when, suddenly, Numb Nuts broke his leg. Then he got a disease, then whiplash and, thanks to poor rest/heal/time management from AwesomeSauce (otherwise known as ME) he croaked. Butts McGee I shot because he’d been infected after a zombie bite and I thought I was supposed to shoot him. Oops. By the time I made it to Safe Haven I didn’t have any friends left to help me out. Means I died fast. Another oops!

This game does not have stellar graphics but the sound track is pretty cool, the game is fun and you really do decide your own fate based on how good your strategy is. Mine wasn’t so hot but I learned enough, I hope, to make my next go turn out much better. You have to think and plan accordingly and when that fails, make the best of your situation. The game presents a lot of choices, some of them ‘life lessons’ in terms of the game and your survival. There are quite a few game tips in each town/stop when you ‘talk to strangers’. It’s a great little game with replay value (I think) and I’m looking forward to playing it again this week. (I hope) When I first saw the game for sale on Steam I immediately thought “that looks dumb”. No clue how  got it but I’m glad I did! Not dumb at all!

Posted on March 24, 2014, in Gaming and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

I love reading your comments. Thanks!

