*CLOSED* Giveaway: Testament of Sherlock Holmes

Over the Steam Holiday Sale I picked up a few games I’ve played and enjoyed, extra copies to giveaway here on Flamingbard, as a way to say “thanks for reading” here because I do so appreciate you guys! I can’t tell you how exciting it is to get a mail saying someone liked a post or left a comment. Some of you use Twitter to tell me you liked a post. Knowing how awesome that feels but that it’s rather one sided I wanted to do something to give back to you guys. So, STEAM SALE!

This giveaway is for Frogwares Testament of Sherlock Holmes and I am SO EXCITED! I love this game so hard it’s not funny! I didn’t buy the game myself for myself. I’d been watching it (wishlisted on Steam) and when the price dropped to over 50% off I wanted to just kick myself because, at the time, I still couldn’t spare the money to get it. Hate missing a great sale on something I’ve wanted for so long! I groaned about this on Twitter and was bowled over when a friend gifted the game to me!! I have the BEST friends!

This game has a great story with incredibly impressive and immersive graphics, wonderfully rich voice overs and some pretty stinking hard puzzles. Not all of the puzzles are hard but the ones that are, whoo. I’m playing through again because I want an achievement I missed and because this is my absolute favorite adventure title in this genre. Currently I’m stuck on a puzzle, though *stuck* is more my choice than not. My first play through of the game I was on the phone gabbing away with someone while doing this puzzle. I somehow managed to hit the reset button and it, quite literally, reset all of my progress on the puzzle. I nearly had a meltdown, so angry with myself, and my husband jumped in and ‘fixed’ it for me by doing the puzzle. He finished it way faster than I could have and, to be honest, it was the puzzle I hated really because this type of puzzle just isn’t my thing.

Sherlock safe cracking puzzle

Zee puzzle from hell

You have a bunch of balls in a track that has three sections. There are three colors to the balls and you have to get all like colors together by moving this set of balls this way, moving that set of balls over here, …. I found it extremely frustrating and when I saw it pop up the last night I immediately saved and exited the game. My husband should be home today so I’m hoping he’ll do the puzzle for me again. If not, I’ll take a crack at it later. UGH.

Still, this is an amazing game. There are a couple of gory crime scenes (one is so well done that it got a loud “UCK” from me the firs time I saw it) that attribute to the game having a Mature rating. The story and setting, by nature, give it a Mature rating also as it takes place in London around 1898 and parts of the story will take you to a very … seedy… part of town, the White Chapel area where people do what they have to just to get by. No nudity but there are strong themes of drug use and sex (there’s a brothel) throughout the White Chapel area.

Ok, so here’s the requirements for the giveaway.

  • You have to have SteamΒ to play the game as I’ll be gifting the winner the game through Steam. There will be instructions in the email explaining how to download Steam in case you don’t have it already.
  • The winner will have to use a valid email address when commenting (not IN the comment itself, just in the input box you have to fill out TO comment so it’s kept private) so I can send the download link for the game. I won’t sell or give your email address to anyone, promise.
  • You have to leave a comment on this post in order for me to enter you into a random draw to win the game.
  • Oh, and you need an internet connection to download the game.

-You don’t have to be my Steam friend in order for me to gift the game to you because Steam allows for people to send gifts to email addresses, not just through the client. If you want to add me as a Steam friend, that’s cool. Not required though.

-I will assign each person who comments a number and then enter the numbers in a Random Number Generator to determine the winner. Multiple comments from the same person won’t increase your chances of winning. In other words, if you comment 187 times you’re still only getting one entry number assigned to you.

-The contest starts as soon as this post is published (today) Saturday, January 4th and runs through Thursday, January 10th. A winner will be chosen via the Random Number Generator on Friday, January 11th. I’ll contact the winner immediately following the draw. If the winner hasn’t emailed me back by Monday night on January 14th I’ll redraw Β for a new winner. Sound fair?

Steam has been down the entire time I’ve been writing this post so I can’t link to the store page for this game. Here’s the minimum system requirements for the game from Frogware:

Minimum System Requirements

  • OS: Windows XP SP3/Windows VISTA SP2/ Windows 7
  • Processor: AMD/INTEL dual-core 2 GHZ
  • RAM memory: 2048 MB
  • Graphics card: 256 MB 100% DirectX 9 and shaders 3.0 compatible, ATI radeon HD 2600 XT/NVIDIA Geforce 8600 GT or higher
  • DVD-ROM: 2X DRIVE
  • Hard disk space: 14 GB
  • Sound card: DirectX 9 compatible
  • Internet connection required for game activation
  • Controller: Keyboard & mouse or Xbox compatible

To enter, comment below. Good luck! This is a crazy awesome game and I can’t wait to gift it to someone!

WINNERS HAVE BEEN NOTIFIED! Check your email (look for one from n0name28).

Posted on January 4, 2014, in Giveaway and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 26 Comments.

  1. Long time Sherlock Holmes fan here. If you enjoy reading Sherlock Holmes, I would also suggest the series by Carole Douglas-Nelson, written from Irene Adler’s point of view. The indomitable Mr. Holmes features in every single book, I believe, but the stars are Irene Adler and her assistant/friend Penelope Huxleigh.
    Happy gaming and happy reading!

  2. Seems interesting might want to sample it one day.

  3. This seems to match my gaming criteria, puzzle type with a good story. Nothing like a good game to get those brain cells working.

    • Frogwares has been very upfront with how some of the puzzles in this particular game were too hard and said they will back off that for the next game. There’s a great walkthrough online for the puzzles I used for a couple since I don’t know a thing about chess.

  4. I’ve been tempted by these Holmes games, but resisted so far because I’m so far behind with playing the games I already have!

    > The winner will have to use a valid email address … in the input box

    As a logged in WP.com user I don’t see any such input box. But we’ll worry about that if my number comes up. You can always DM me on Twitter if need be.

    • I didn’t even think about being logged in. That uses the email associated with your WP profile I think. Good call!

      And I feel ya on having so many games, lol. I plan to not buy so many this year and play all the ones I have. We’ll see how that works …

      • I may have to do a giveaway of some of the games from my Humble Bundles that I haven’t even downloaded yet.

        Though with the number of followers I have, nobody might even notice. πŸ™‚

  5. What an awesome give away.

  6. Well I will try my luck. I have not played any of the Sherlock Games since the first consulting detective years ago but I have been tempted to get back to it. Good luck to all πŸ™‚

  7. seems like a cool game. hope i get lucky to win it..thanks for the giveaway mate

  8. id love to win.

  9. I’ve had my eye on the Sherlock games but never tried one. I’d love to give it a whirl!

  10. For those who didn’t win, the game is on sale for $4.99 on Steam but it ends today at 10am PST (that’s about 8hrs from this comment).

  1. Pingback: LNS Season 4: Episode 76 – Continue?9876543210 | Geek Insomnia Network

  2. Pingback: Giveaway: The Testament of Sherlock Holmes | The Flaming Bard

I love reading your comments. Thanks!

