LotRO: Turbine, I don’t get you anymore

When I first saw the Hobby Horse quest in Harwick I absolutely fell in love with that hobby-horse and knew I wanted one of my very own. It’s cute and fun to ride and makes me look ridiculous all in one. LOVE IT! When I saw a mention on Twitter about being able to purchase your very own hobby-horse soon, I was over joyed! I went to the forums and read the post, linked here, and saw they were asking for feedback. They said the price was not a joke but didn’t say what the price would be. I wrongly assumed that meant it’d be around 500 Turbine Points and set to try and convince myself that would be a worthy use of my TPs.  It wasn’t until I learned the current price for the hobby-horse is actually 5,000 TPs that I decided to go back and read the whole post (I’d stopped in my excitement after seeing that yes, they were bringing the horse to the store).

Turbine, you’ve never made me feel that I don’t rate more than that one post did.

Let me back up and say this. I totally understand and agree with the want for constructive feedback. It’s vital! Ranty-crazypants posts are non-productive, loud noise that could drown out the productive non-ranty-crazypants posts. I get it. What I don’t get is the wordage you chose to use when asking for feedback. The saying about not baiting trolls came to mind as soon as I read the post in its entirety. It’s like those people who post saying ‘let’s not bring up THIS’ when, hello, you JUST did.

4. Any rants about how evil Turbine is for making store items, even those that are entirely optional and up simply for the fun of those who are willing to pay for them, will be disregarded. This item is an experiment item. We simply want your feedback on the type of item presented and what might be added to it or done to it to make it a better item. We are not forcing you to buy it. No one is forcing you to buy it. It’s something to be there and be fun for those who may want it.

It’s counter-productive, the very thing you were saying would be ignored. If you had left it at “Any rants about how evil Turbine is for making store items will be disregarded” without going to the trouble to add the bit about store items being “entirely optional and up simply for the fun of those who are willing to pay for them” was nothing short of a big slap in the face. You used it as a qualifier, defensively, and basically said (in my opinion) that if I got defensive back I’d be disregarded. Not cool to take that tone. Again, I understand the need for constructive feedback but you set an ugly (re: defensive/victimized) tone from the get go.

It’s like saying if I don’t agree with you I don’t rate.

You’ve made me realize that I don’t need the hobby-horse, even if it’s as low as 100 Turbine Points.

Then I read about the changes to the Festivals. OhmywordsweetJesus. Why? Why do you have to take everything that could be fun and turn it into a massive grind? Festivals are supposed to be fun breaks, not daily chores. I know they’re optional but the piece-meal fun grind thing has gotten out of hand. I enjoyed running a few races and doing quests to earn my tokens for the Festival mounts. Now the mounts are deed-gated. That’s not fun. Furthermore, will I be screwed out of earning one next year if I complete the deed this year or will you add new deeds every year? Did you implement this new system of tokens just to push the store item that resets your quest/daily limits? I’m so confused because I thought you wanted to encourage me to spend money, not brow beat me with a wet and grindy noodle.

I’m upset. The patch notes for Bullroarer I read a few days ago mentioned being able to port back to a quest giving NPC when you’d completed a quest.  I don’t recall reading in the notes that you’d have to buy something in the store to do so. Maybe it should have been expected but I didn’t stop to think. Can’t you just be upfront with me? Teasing me doesn’t make me want to give you money. It makes me think I can’t trust what you say anymore because you talk out of the side of your mouth.

All that said, I still want to continue playing. Matter of fact, I will log in as soon as I publish this post and do Condi’s Hytbold dailies. I just don’t know if I want to buy Turbine Points anymore until they stop treating the community with such disrespect. Hobbit tie-ins before Rohan instances? Festivals turned into grinds to try and force me to log in every day or buy something else from the store? The tone in the Hobby Horse post? It’s just not cool.

Posted on November 30, 2012, in Gaming and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. ” The patch notes for Bullroarer I read a few days ago mentioned being able to port back to a quest giving NPC when you’d completed a quest. I don’t recall reading in the notes that you’d have to buy something in the store to do so. Maybe it should have been expected but I didn’t stop to think.”

    Basically it’s gotten to the point that we must expect to pay extra for any quality-of-life type improvement coming to the game. You can see it now in the hobby horse thread.. everyone listing what they’d pay TP for. It’s all stuff I think that should come automatically to VIPs. Charge the F2P people, sure, but not VIPs. The store and the greed have really sucked the fun out of the game for me.

  2. I was reading that thread and seeing people talking about housing additions when referring to what they’d pay $50 bucks for. I wouldn’t. I feel something that expensive should be an expansion that covers a heck of a lot more than a basement or no hook system.

    I do think some things should be given to VIPs to encourage that monthly subscription. They really need to look hard for a better balance so the greed isn’t constantly in our faces.

  1. Pingback: LotRO: Why I’ve abandoned my houses « the flaming bard

I love reading your comments. Thanks!

