Lord of Ultima: Still picking the thorns outta my hand

Whoo_wee today was a crazy day. No, wait. I should back up. The last three days have been crazy! Today was just extra super crazy.

My alliance’s biggest enemy has been trying to take one of my alliance leaders castles for three straight days. They started this round on Friday the 13th (yeah, kinda cheesy) and continued into Saturday with a fresh launch of the usual attacks. I call them scatter attacks as they send a buttload of attacks to several different castles and have several members send to all or most of these castles they’ve picked as targets. Some of the attacks are fake and you just don’t know for sure who the real target is until the attacks start landing. This spreads your defense unless you decide to just pick a target or two to defend. It also makes you frustrated and, if the attacks are large enough in number, you feel a little panic wafting around the edges.

Another of the ‘typical attack’ tactics they use is to send a clearing attack designed to kill a horde of troops so that when the baron they are sending (can’t take a castle without one) in the siege attack gets there, the chances of the baron being killed off areĀ minimized. This makes it super easy to dodge that first round of attacks, skip the clearing zerk and or cavalry armies and swoop in to kill the baron and siege off. The Sunday prior to these attacks my castle was a target and they freaking hit me H.A.R.D! But, because they goofed and under estimated us, causing their fakes to work too good, I wasn’t there to be hit with that brutal first wave. I, thanks to them, dodged it and my castle was saved. So we decided to dodge the first round of attacks on Friday and Saturday and it worked great.

Sunday we, and by we I mean me, decided to dodge a bit more and not get the bulk of our troops there until the third wave. We had big heavy ballista in route so I made sure to have some troops in our alliance leaders castle to help with the ballista but the meat and girth of our defense was still in route. This would have worked beautifully if our enemy had stuck to their normal way of attacking.

When I was little we were going to see my Grandma. She lived in a small township off a dirt road near our church. There were a few rose bushes on the side of this little dirt road and I wanted to pick her a rose. We weren’t going very fast at all, a snail’s pace rather and so I leaned as far out of the back seat window of our station wagon as I could and grabbed her the first rose I could reach.

Thorns and all. It hurt.

That’s what today’s attacks felt like. We thought we had it down pat and were relishing our soon-to-come victory when, instead, we were shocked with a world of pain! They put a tremendous amount of zerks in with the siege attacks. Siege attacks auto-repeat every hour until you call them off, there’s nothing left to kill or, if there’s a baron in the siege, the castle is taken. Oh, and there were a bazillion siege attacks. We lost over 200k troops (haven’t counted to be sure but think that’s right), 58k of them mine. We under estimated them this time and lost our alliance leaders castle. We lost two more castles but one was planned as the guy who owns it didn’t want it and the other, well, he’s not been in game in a couple of weeks so we didn’t even try to defend it. Loosing the one we all died to defend, however, that’s an experience the first time.

Perspective? It’s all pixels and it’s a TON of fun! And we learned a lot from it. I’m still picking the thorns from my hand and I have a feeling there will be more thorns coming soon, but we aren’t going down without a fight. Oh, and I should add that I walked into my Grandma’s house and presented her my torn up little rose with tears streaming down my face. I was proud of my accomplishment after all. I may not have been too patient as they extracted the rose from the palm of my hand (them thorns stick good!) but I was determined and did what I set out to do. Aiming to become a thorn …

Posted on April 16, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

I love reading your comments. Thanks!

