LotRO: Holy COW that was painful!

I have spent the majority of my LotRO career playing a Lore-Master. I have several even between different servers. I adore the class and feel it’s one of the most powerful classes to play given the utility built into it. (aside, I haven’t played original Ranni or any of her counterparts in months so if something has changed, I haven’t experienced it yet.) It’s a fun class and the one most near to my heart. Granted, I didn’t really start falling in love with my first one until level 20, but once I did I was hooked!

The last few months I’ve spent playing my Hunters, Champion, Guardian (overpower freaking ROCKS!) and Captain. Today I pulled out my little LM to get her from level 16 to 21. OhmywordsweetJesus! that was painful! Instead of zipping right through it I took breaks. Because I felt I would go insane if I didn’t.

It. Was. SLOOOOOW!

I checked her gear before pulling her away from the vault and saw that even though she was level 16, she had the no-stat-starter armour you start the game in. I had Condi make her a fine linen set and Millee made her a few bangles as well. I also bought a nice staff off the Auction House for a whopping 15 silver. (whoever posted that, you rock!) Still, even with nice gear, the leveling was a huge drag. I’m sure it was because yesterday I leveled a Guardian in over power to 21. Talk about lightening fast! Opposite ends of the extreme and whatnot. Still, I thought a lot today about how I’ve heard so many complain about how awful the LM class is to play.

I think I get it now.

The second LM I leveled up I did so with a friend who was leveling her Guardian (might have been a Champ) with me. So I didn’t feel the pain and slowness. The first one, though, well, that was my first class so I didn’t know it could be faster. Now that I do, umph. I’m not impressed at all. Thing is, I really want a level capped LM to play on Landroval because I absolutely know for a fact how awesome and fun the class is.

Rock-me-Quandry.

I can’t believe I’m going to say this as I’ve always always ALWAYS been against this idea, but LMs should start off with another dps skill. Just having the one staff hit isn’t enough and I’ll tell you why. Most of the rest of your skills on the way to level 20 are induction skills, or some sort of utility. The inductions take a while and are so easily breakable. You do have blinding flash, your daze, but when doing the Tuckborough skirmish I lost at least one bounder, maybe two. And it was because of my induction times. (and the bounders refusal to wait until I had the aggro before running hail-mary into the mobs) Lost one of the guards in Gondamon for the same reason. At higher levels, this isn’t an issue. So yeah, either another dps skill or lighten those inductions. Please. Would make all the difference!

Speaking of painful, when I killed the boss in the Siege of Gondamon skirmish, he face-planted on the ground in front of me. This is what I saw.

Ingithor Blackhand forgot his pants!

Please, for the love of all that is holy, someone fix this! Although it made me chuckle, that wasn’t my initial reaction. Aren’t you glad I posted this picture? Yeah, I thought so.

Posted on January 29, 2012, in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

I love reading your comments. Thanks!

