LotRO: A soap box, of sorts

I was a little hesitant about writing this post for a bit, but then I thought about how many people read me and all fears were put aside. Heh. Seriously, though, I’ve been deeding my Landroval characters the last couple of days and while I deed I listen to podcasts. I’ve been playing LotRO since before the original release and I have to admit, although my love for the game has never failed, my want to play has waned a time or two. When I stumbled onto LotRO podcasts, listening to other people who play the game TALK about the game renewed my interest and made things such as deeding way more fun!

My town had us a real live tornado come through back in April. Something happened to my internet connection that took my normally ok DSL down to speeds reminiscent of dial-up. Early days dial-up on some days. Repeated calls did nothing to help a fix as I was the only one complaining. Over the summer we’ve replaced our modem, every line in the house, any equipment that affected our phone/dsl connections period. Nothing. Helped. It wasn’t until I finally convinced some neighbors to call in as well that we finally started getting somewhere. That was a month or so ago. I said all of that to say this. I didn’t listen to any podcasts over the summer as it was impossible or required far more patience than I will ever have.

Once our speed was starting to get better, I embarked on a journey to catch up. I picked a point and decided that every podcast I’d missed from that point to current ones I’d listen to. Know what? Most of them talk about the same things. It’s almost like there’s a standard format that must be stuck to. The good thing was that with my sorry connection speeds plus real life that led to my ‘summer burnout’ I was left feeling very dis-attached to all things LotRO, and listening to the podcasts helped mesh me back in. Somewhat. I still feel a little lost, I won’t lie, but I’m getting there. Anyway, my question is this.

Wouldn’t it be cool if they could get together and do a big ’round table-ish’ podcast for things like expansion release news rather than each podcast discussing the relative same news? My answer to my question would be a firm yes. And no.

Yes first. It would take the repeat out when you listen to several different podcasts. That I’d like. At the same time, listening to different people and their take on what this or that means is sometimes enlightening, and, in the case of a couple of podcasts I listen to where the podcasters aren’t ‘vets’ so to speak, very entertaining. Sometimes they just say funny stuff. I was doing sickle flies in the Marshes of Bree while listening to a couple who may not have been playing for a very long time when I realized this. That’s when it hit me that I’d hate to ‘get less’ of these podcasts just so I didn’t hear the same news over and over. It’s the chemistry of the podcasters that keeps me coming back. Well, there’s one podcast that’s my go-to for ‘what’s new’ and ‘what does this mean???’ but even with them, it’s the personalities that draw me back each week. So yeah, I’d have to answer ‘No’ to my question as well.

It would be nice to see a little variation in them from time to time but at the same time, when you’ve got something that works, why mess with it? And they do work as I continue to look forward to the next episode(s) every week. I’m also finding I really enjoy listening to ‘live’ podcasts. Talk about funny stuff sometimes! Podcasts have fostered a sense of community that’s, for now, filling the need to be in a kinship in game. I’m playing on a new-to-me server and have no idea where to even start looking for a kin. Playing my favorite podcasts while I’m in game makes me feel connected. I think that’s what I love about them most.

On a funny note, spell check wants me to correct “podcasters” to “poetasters”. Um, ewww?

Posted on October 2, 2011, in podcasts. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Hi Ranni, I just wanted to say thanks for this post, and for linking to LOTRO Academy in your blogroll. 🙂 I know what you’re saying about repeated information. As a podcaster, I know it’s a difficult thing to avoid, but I don’t think it’s worth worrying about too much. When I started LOTRO Academy, I started with episodes on specific in-game topics, and tried to avoid covering the general LOTRO news unless I felt there was a good enough reason, like a major announcement of something. Even then, I didn’t want to compete with the in-depth analysis of the more established general LOTRO podcasts. I wanted LOTRO Academy to be different, and it is, but it’s becoming a more general show as time goes on and we run out of specific topics that we feel we know enough about to cover. None of our hosts are at the end game yet.

    As for your cross-podcast roundtable idea, it’s definitely an interesting one. If any other podcasters are reading, and interested, I’d certainly be willing to help with such a project if I can, but I know firsthand how difficult scheduling can be. With cohosts in the UK (Krorain) and Australia (Mysteri) juggling time zones is always an issue with me in the US. And the more individual hosts that are involved, the more of a problem scheduling and bandwidth can become. Don’t get me wrong, I think it’s a good idea, but I don’t think it’s possible to get everyone from all the LOTRO podcasts together for a single roundtable without bringing people in in shifts. But a group of 5 or 6 hosts from the podcasting community would certainly be feasible.

    I don’t think it would be possible to cover everything that way, or to prevent different podcasts covering the same information, but I do think it might be worth looking into for any major LOTRO news in the future , such as expansions or large updates.

    I’ll stop rambling now. I only meant to write a quick note. 🙂

  2. I don’t think it’s possible to cover everything that way at all. I’d love to hear a bunch of you guys on the really big news because you each have your own view points and I bet the discussion from them would be awesome!

    I hear you on the time zone issue. When I was leading the Pathfinders we had folks from Australia, Japan, England, all across Canada/US and one from Hawaii. Scheduling events was a huge nightmare!

    As for the news repeat, I’d never noticed that until I did a big catch up where I listened to so very many back to back. That’s when it stuck out, lol. Everyone pulls something a little different from the news, though, even if it is the same news, and that’s actually cool.

    I really like the way you guys do LOTRO Academy. I don’t think LotRO is an end-game type of game, else there wouldn’t be so much to do between spawn and level cap. The player base puts on so many events that have nothing to do with end-game, too. Keep doing what you’re doing as it rocks, even when you don’t have a specific topic. 🙂

  3. Wish I could edit my comments after posting them. LotRO definitely has an end-game but I don’t think it’s ‘just’ an end-game type of game. Hope that makes sense. For me, the journey TO end-game is just as awesome as the big raids.

I love reading your comments. Thanks!

