Gwathnor Down!

(click the screenshot to see a larger version of it)

This boss, the final boss for 2.6.8 is a BEAST if you, like me, don’t know the ‘trick’ to taking him down. I struggled with this boss last week, dying every time I attempted him. I could easily get him down from 47,688 health to 15K but that’s when the trouble would start for me. I didn’t see the 100% evade buff on him until I’d died twice. Even when I did finally see the buff, I was too busy dying (going sad?) to find the trick to removing it.

See, when he would get that buff I could no longer damage him. /Doh He puts out so very much fire damage I couldn’t see around us as I was standing right where he was standing. Reason? I didn’t want to fall into another ‘hole’ in the ground and figured he wasn’t about to put one under himself, so … safe zone? I knew, once I noticed the buff, that there had to be a way to remove it. Since that time, I’ve seen him with a 75% evade buff, which comes before the 100% evade one.

My repairs for dying have been around 100 silver each time. I’ve spent almost a gold repairing just on this one instance! Finally, I asked a healer friend to come with me. I was hoping she could keep me alive long enough for me to run around and ‘find the trick’. I warned her that once he had that buff, he’d be hitting me for 1K damage (nice, no? NO!) She was able to keep me healed, however, and find it I did!

He spawns adds, fire grims, and when you kill them the buff is gone. How simple!

I couldn’t see the adds what with all the flames and my names not being on. He falls easily with no buff! I’m happy to report that I conquered my nemesis (not saying he’s a nemesis as I never thought to look at that) and got the Singed cloak (forget which one is the bomb-diggity) and have equipped it as a cosmetic. The cloak I’m wearing for armour is a better cloak stat-wise. I’m glad I figured this out as I have my Lore-Master ready and waiting to get back to work on the Moria epics as I type! Shame it took me so long to figure this one out, though.

Oh, and thanks to Moonsky for keeping me alive! Woot!

Posted on March 28, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Thanx so much for posting this, I have been trying to kill this boss today and knew there must have been a trick to it πŸ™‚ yours was the best help, thank you πŸ™‚

  2. Glad it helped! Had a heck of a time until I realized there were adds. πŸ™‚

I love reading your comments. Thanks!

